Personal Assistant (Support Worker)

Location: Craigmillar

Contract Type: Permanent - Part Time

Closing Date: 26 July 2021

Salary: Starting salary £9.30 per hour (£18,860.40 per annum (pro-rata))

Specific Hours: 20 Per Week

Personal Assistant (Support Worker)

 Job Details

Job Title

Personal Assistant

Line Manager

Lead Practitioner

 

 

Salary

£18,860.40 FTE

Department

Supported Living

Directorate

Director of H&W

Location

Thistle Foundation, 13 Queens Walk, Edinburgh, EH16 4EA

Hours

Full-time & part-time

FTE

39 hours

 

 

We are looking for a Personal Assistant to join an existing team supporting a young man in Craigmillar. This post is to fit hours around D going to Daycentre, although this is currently only on a Wednesday due to Covid.

  • D is a young man who has Cerebal Palsy and Severe Epilepsy which can result in D having emergency medication to stop his seizures.
  • D has a few different kinds of seizures and these can be different on a daily basis. D’s team have to stay with D at all times and D can’t be let alone.
  • D needs support with all personal care. D is a wheelchair user and has a power pack for that. He also has a track hoist in the house for transfers. 
  • D isn’t able to speak and communicates through noises. If he is in pain he will show this by becoming upset this is how the team know how best to support him.
  • D shows lots of facial expressions so you know when he is happy or sad.

Prior to Covid, D usually during the week has hours to suit him going to his Daycentre 4 days a week. D goes to the Daycentre from 8.30-3pm Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday. D is at home on Wednesdays, Saturday and Sundays.

On a day usually D has a 7-9am and a  3-10pm and sleepover into 7.30am the next day. Some shifts on days off can be 8-5pm or 12.30-5, 4.30-10s/o or 8-1pm, they can vary depending on D’s support needs. During Covid D has only started back to his day service on a Wednesday.

The new member has to be flexible to suit D’s needs.

  • D enjoys food, spending time with him on the floor and interacting with him.
  • D also enjoys going to the Christmas pantomime and theatre, cinema and loves a McDonald’s meal.
  • D usually goes to day trips and hospital with mum who drives us there and back. D enjoys holidays with his team members and his mum and gran.
  • D hates the rain, wind and damp weather. He enjoys the sun but not too much of it

D is Peg Fed his medication only but enjoys a varied diet orally.

If you would like an informal chat about this vacancy please contact Pat.Smyth@thistle.org.uk

Please click here for the full job description.

Apply now